Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Eibert

Picture of Thomas Eibert

Technical University of Munich

Chair of High-Frequency Engineering (Prof. Eibert)

Curriculum Vitae

Thomas Eibert studied electrical engineering at the Georg-Simon-Ohm-Fachhochschule Nürnberg and at the Ruhr-Universität Bochum with spezialization in radio frequency technology and electromagnetics. After working as a research assistant at the „Institut für Hochfrequenztechnik” of Ruhr-Universität Bochum and at the „Lehrstuhl für Theoretische Elektrotechnik” at „Bergische Universität Wuppertal” he received the Dr.-Ing. degree in 1997 with a dissertation on a hybrid method combining the finite element method with an integral equation technique for planar layered media. Then he performed post-doctoral research at the „University of Michigan” in Ann Arbor, MI, USA under a DAAD fellowship, where he worked on the electromagnetic modelling of reconfigurable antenna arrays.

From 1998 until 2002, he was research scientist and project coordinator in the „Technologiezentrum” of Deutsche Telekom in Darmstadt and investigated wave propagation and coverage probabilities for mobile communications and terrestrial broadcasting.

From 2002 until 2005, Thomas Eibert was head of the department „Antennas and Scattering” of the „Forschungsinstitut für Hochfrequenzphysik und Radartechnik” at the „Forschungsgesellschaft für Angewandte Naturwissenschaften e.V.” in Wachtberg close to Bonn. Research focus was on fast integral methods and hybrid techniques for electromagnetic radiation and scattering problems with application on conformal antennas and radar signatures, where also novel conformal antenna concepts were investigated and antenna and scattering measurements were performed.

In 2005, Thomas Eibert became Professor of Radio Frequency Engineering at „Universität Stuttgart”, where he worked on antennas and microwave technology (also involving metamaterials), radio systems, measurement techniques for antennas and scattering, as well as the modelling of electromagnetic fields.

Since October 2008, Thomas Eibert has been Chair Professor of High-Frequency Engineering at the „Technical University of Munich”.

His current research activities focus on the measurement of antennas and scatterers together with the corresponding field transformations, on the modelling of radiation and scattering problems, on the design of antennas and antenna arrays, as well as on radar systems and radar signal processing, where a variety of microwave circuits and components are often also of interest.

Thomas Eibert is a member of URSI Commission B, of IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers), and of VDE/ITG (Verein deutscher Elektrotechniker/Informationstechnische Gesellschaft), where he has been a member of the working group on antennas since 2004. From 2010 to 2013, he was the Chairman of the working group on antennas.

From 2012 to 2016, he was „Associate Editor“ of the „IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation“ and from 2012 to 2014, he was the Chairman of the German Council of Electrical Engineering University Departments, dealing with questions of study and research policies in Germany.

For his diploma thesis at the „Georg-Simon-Ohm-Fachhochschule Nürnberg”, Thomas Eibert was awarded an industry prize and for his Dr.-Ing.-thesis the “3. Preis des Förderpreises 1997” of the „Bergische Universität Wuppertal”. Together with Ismatullah, he received the „Best Antennas Paper Prize” of the „2nd European Conference on Antennas and Propagation (EUCAP)”, Edinburgh, 2007. Another recognition in 2007 was the „Forschungsförderung für junge Lehrstuhlinhaber”, 2007, granded by the „Wandel & Goldermann Foundation”. Together with Marcel Blech, he is a recipient of the “ITG-Preis 2008”.

In 2013, Thomas Eibert received together with Torsten Fritzel, Alexander Geise, Carsten Schmidt, Hans-Jürgen Steiner, Oliver Wiedenmann, and Maurice Paquay the „Best Innovative Paper Award at the 35th European Space Agency (ESA) Antenna Workshop“.

Many doctoral researchers received scientific recognitions and awards under his supervision:

  • Yvonne Weitsch: „URSI Commission B Best Paper Prize“ of the „XXIX General Assembly of the URSI“, Chicago, 2008
  • Hermann Buddendick: 3. Prize in the „Student Paper Competition“ of the „IEEE Antennas and Propagation International Conference“, San Diego, 2008
  • Carsten Schmidt: 2. Place in the "Student Paper Competition" of the "Applied Computational Electromagnetic Society Conference", Monterey, Ca, 2009
  • Carsten Schmidt:  1. Place in the "Student Paper Contest" of the AMTA (Antenna Measurement Techniques Association) Conference”, Salt Lake City, USA, 2009
  • Muhammad Ayyaz Qureshi: 2. Place in the "Student Paper Contest" of the AMTA (Antenna Measurement Techniques Association) Conference”, Salt Lake City, USA, 2009
  • Muhammad Ayyaz Qureshi:  2. Place in the "Student Paper Contest" of the “AMTA (Antenna Measurement Techniques Association) Conference”, Bellevue, USA, 2012
  • Georg Schnattinger: Best Young-Scientist-Paper Award of the “Young Scientist Award Program” of the “Kleinheubacher Tagung” (German URSI Symposium) in Miltenberg, Germany, 2013
  • Simon Adrian: Best Young-Scientist-Paper Award of the “Young Scientist Award Program” of the “Kleinheubacher Tagung” (German URSI Symposium) in Miltenberg, Germany, 2014
  • Oliver Wiedenmann: “Student Paper Award” at the “12th International Workshop on Finite Elements for Microwave Engineering” in Chengdu, China, 2014
  • Simon Adrian: Second prize in the third international “URSI Student Prize Paper Competition” of the “XXXI URSI General Assembly and Scientific Symposium”, Beiijing, China, 2014
  • Simon Adrian: Third place of the “Student Paper Award” at “IEEE Antennas and Propagation International Symposium” in Vancouver, Canada, 2015
  • Simon Adrian: First place in the “Student Paper Competition” of the “URSI International Symposium on Electromagnetic Theory” in Espoo, Finland, 2016
  • Christian Koenen:  Third place of the “Student Paper Award” at “IEEE International Symposium on Phased Array Systems and Technology” in Waltham, MA, USA, 2016